Why Women Shouldn’t Drive Cars

Those who come here have one thing in common: they’re all busy. So it honors me that you take the time to read what I write. It normally takes me around three hours, by the time I’ve written, checked my sources as best I can, re-written, and finalized. That means I can usually write only once a week, for lack of time. For those of you who are kind enough to read TheIndiaRoad blog, that’s probably as far as your time stretches too. This is not a blog for the idle.

So this is a two minute post, but may make you think for a little longer than that. This week I saw a movie called Rendition. Meryl Streep is in it, but in a secondary role. It’s promising, but the ending is disappointing. I was struck by one of the lines in the dialog:

Beat your woman every morning. You may not know why, but she does.

Just now I googled the sentence. That got me on to YouTube for about fifteen minutes.

I thought I’d share what I found with you. Only two or three clips. These are supposedly from Mid-East TV stations such as Al Majd TV. Looks like a particularly good one for insomnia. Bahrain and Qatar TV also feature. The comments on the YouTube links are what you might expect: pretty exercised.

But please note that all the subtitling is from a Washington DC group called the Middle East Media Research Institute, or MEMRI. It just so happens that the founder and president of MEMRI goes by the name of Yigal Carmon, formerly of the Israeli IDF Intelligence, and former counterintelligence adviser to two Israeli prime ministers.

Still, here are the clips. The station on which the program was aired, and the date, are clearly marked on the videos. If those items are correct, then the only possibility that the content is innaccurate is an incorrect or biased translation. I don’t speak Arabic, so I can’t tell.

My suggestion? Take these with a pinch of salt. In the west we are proud that the accused stands innocent until proven guilty, not the other way around.

On why women shouldn’t drive cars, and why it is the road to perdition

On how masturbation can lead to death, rather than just blindness

On how to beat your wife

Food for thought.

The India Road QR links for smartphones: point your camera and click.

One Response to “Why Women Shouldn’t Drive Cars”

  1. Frances Says:

    If those translations are the real thing, I hope the next generation of women become desert rally drivers with pink embellished vibrators swinging from their rear view mirrors.

Leave a Reply

